Kevin Miloshoff awarded Carmichael Young Leader Scholarship

Kevin Miloshoff 2011 CYLC Scholarship Recipient
Jim Anton, Bernie Doyle, Kevin Miloshoff, and Chuck Parkinson

The Chesterton Porter Rotary Club awarded Kevin Miloshoff the William Carmichael Young Leadership Scholarship on Wednesday June 15, 2011 at the Dorothy Buell Memorial Visitor Center in Chesterton.

Bill Carmichael was a County Councilman that championed county funding for social service programs and court programs assisting juveniles. He was also an active Rotary member, member and president of the Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District, the Duneland YMCA, and a charter member of the North Porter County Conservation Club.

Two rounds of questions pertaining to leadership and community involvement, displays of talent, and an essay reflecting “Service Above Self” were reviewed to determine the scholarship recipient.

It was a close competition and a brilliant display of talent in our Duneland School system. Chesterton Town Manager Bernie Doyle was the evening’s speaker on leadership values, detailing both historical and personal significance.

Judges for the evening (pictured above) were Rotary members David Hiestand, Chuck Parkinson, Heather Klein, Christine Newton and Dr. Daniel Keilman. Student participants selected included recent CHS graduates Dolores Gallagher, Bradley Levi, Kevin Miloshoff, Nichole Waha and Maria Zakhar.

Also pictured above are Jim Anton, Rotary Club President, Bernie Doyle, Kevin Miloshoff, and Chuck Parkinson, Rotary Club President-Elect.

Rotary International is the world’s first service club organization, with more than 1.2 million members in 33,000 clubs worldwide. Rotary club members are volunteers who work locally, regionally, and internationally to combat hunger, improve health and sanitation, provide education and job training, promote peace, and eradicate polio under the motto Service Above Self.

Bill Carmichael’s life and work indeed exemplified Service Above Self. This competition is intended to recognize and reward individuals of similar ideals and merit.

The Chesterton Porter Rotary Club meets Tuesdays at 11:45 am at the Library Service Center at 100 West Indian Avenue in Chesterton.

Rotary Members
David Hiestand, Chuck Parkinson, Heather Klein, Bernie Doyle, Christine Newton, Dr. Dan Keilman, and Jim Anton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *